Your browser is not fully supported. Please upgrade your browser.

Skip to main content
Events & Media

International Woolmark Prize

The International Woolmark Prize celebrates outstanding fashion talents from around the globe who showcase the beauty and versatility of Merino wool. It is the world’s most prestigious award for rising fashion stars.

More than 300 emerging fashion designers from nearly 50 countries applied to take part in the 2020 edition of the International Woolmark Prize. Following review by an independent Advisory Council, ten designers have been selected as the finalists and will go on to take part in the global final in February 2020. There, they will each present a capsule collection of six Merino wool looks that, for the first time, will be fully traceable, adding transparency to the supply chain. One overall winner will receive AU$200,000 and one designer will receive AU$100,000 for demonstrating outstanding innovation in product or manufacturing.


First held in 1953 as an initiative of the International Wool Secretariat, the award was won the following year by iconic fashion designers Karl Lagerfeld and Yves Saint Laurent. Today, the International Woolmark Prize continues to recognise design excellence using Australian Merino wool. The prize crosses borders and cultures to spotlight emerging fashion talent from hotspots in more than 60 countries before a who’s who of the international fashion industry. By putting wool in the hands of the world’s leading innovators, the International Woolmark Prize challenges them to achieve greatness in keeping with The Woolmark Company’s tradition of supporting design excellence.

International Woolmark Prize 2020 Finalists Talk Traceability

International Woolmark Prize

Richard Malone and Bode win 2020 Woolmark Prize

The 2020 winners of the International Woolmark Prize have been announced, with Richard Malone receiving the overall award and Bode becoming the inaugural winner of the Karl Lagerfeld Award for Innovation.

Discover the looks

International Woolmark Prize

the Karl Lagerfeld Award for Innovation

The 2020 International Woolmark Prize will also see the introduction of the inaugural Karl Lagerfeld Award for Innovation, in honour of the late icon and International Woolmark Prize alumnus. Congratulations, you've found a code for our Knit Karl competition: KLWE37W9.

Read more

The winner will not only receive further financial contribution but also the chance to have their Merino wool capsule collection commercialised and sold in the world’s top boutiques and department stores through the International Woolmark Prize’s extensive retail partner network. The Innovation Award also grants one designer a financial contribution and retail support. 

Equally crucial is the trade partner program that connects designers with the best wool suppliers, expert advisors, judging panels and insightful mentors who provide guidance along the way. Through The Woolmark Company’s global network, partnerships are secured with key spinners and weavers to assist designers during the formative stages of their business and ensure a dynamic future for the fashion industry.

For more information, visit